My thoughts…

The first book of Meteorological Autumn is a Christmas one – it seemed only fitting as the temperature has dropped and the nights are already starting earlier! I can firmly say that I was not disappointed with my first read of September.

Heidi Swain is the Queen of cosy reads – for any season! But she absolutely nails it for cosy reads in Autumn and Winter and you will definitely want to pre-order this book to arrive on your doorstep on October 1st.

This was unpredictable – which is often hard to achieve with these cosy reads. I found myself thinking ahead almost certain of what was going to happen and then Heidi would throw a curveball against my predictions. There was variety, diversity, educational aspects and of course romance and to top it all off this book is more ‘Wintery’ than ‘Christmassy’ so it’s perfect in the lead up and beyond.

About the book…

Will love bloom this winter?

Freya Fuller is living her dream, working as a live-in gardener on a beautiful Suffolk estate. But when the owner dies, Freya finds herself forced out of her job and her home with nowhere to go. However, with luck on her side, she’s soon moving to Nightingale Square and helping to create a beautiful winter garden that will be open to the public in time for Christmas.

There’s a warm welcome from all in Nightingale Square, except from local artist Finn. No matter how hard the pair try, they just can’t get along, and working together to bring the winter garden to life quickly becomes a struggle for them both.

Will Freya and Finn be able to put their differences aside in time for Christmas? Or will the arrival of a face from Freya’s past send them all spiralling?

The Winter Garden is the perfect read this Christmas, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Cathy Bramley and Sarah Morgan.

Genre: Contemporary Fiction & Christmas!
Publication: 1st October 2020

About the author…

Although passionate about writing from an early age, Heidi Swain gained a degree in Literature, flirted briefly with a newspaper career, married and had two children before she finally plucked up the courage to join a creative writing class and take her literary ambitions seriously.

A lover of Galaxy bars, vintage paraphernalia and the odd bottle of fizz, she now writes contemporary fiction and enjoys the company of a whole host of feisty female characters.

Heidi can be found at the keyboard at all hours of the day and night and quite often scribbling longhand in her car during her lunch break. She lives in stunning south Norfolk with her wonderful son and daughter and a mischievous cat called Storm.

Connect with the Author…

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher and author for a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

No responses yet