My thoughts…

Sue Watson is an absolutely fantastic Author and I’ve loved all of her books! The Sister In Law was our Book of the Month for September and kept me guessing right up until the end with all the twists and turns. I thought it was brilliant and that Sue could not top it…boy was I wrong… Enter… First Date!

Sue has a writing style that lures you in. She writes about normal people and their normal lives. She rocks you into a gentle state of a false sense of security. You know this is a Psychological Thriller. You know it’s going to go pear-shaped pretty soon. But Sue is very clever at immersing you in the story and then whipping your legs out from under you. Not content with doing this once, she does it over and over again. Every twist will shock and her misdirections are frustratingly brilliant.

I also must add that the main character, Hannah, is incredibly frustrating. I really like Sue’s ability to create such characters as there’s nearly always one or two in her books that I inherently dislike and I always think it’s easy to create a likeable character but harder to create a frustrating one!

First Date is out TODAY! So for all you Sue Watson fans, now is the time to get your next fix of her brilliant Psychological Thrillers.

About the book…

She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go…

Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.

Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true.

Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect.

Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for…

And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request and Gone Girl will adore this unputdownable twisted love story.

Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publication: 16th October 2020 by Bookouture

About the author…

Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written sixteen novels, and many have been translated into several languages. Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her latest thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST, THE SISTER-IN-LAW and FIRST DATE.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her family in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – okay, procrastinating, eating too much confectionery, and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.

Connect with the Author…

Facebook | Twitter | Website

The Fiction Cafe Book Club

If you haven’t already joined us at The Fiction Cafe Book Club what are you waiting for? The book club on Facebook is a friendly group of almost 10,000 members. We discuss anything and everything bookish. We have an Author Live every Sunday when you get to ask a fantastic Author your questions (anything goes, mainly!). And in between we have lots of other exciting features, challenges and so much more. Pop over, answer the membership questions and we’ll let you in! Don’t forget to read the rules in the pinned post.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher and author for a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

No responses yet