Devotions brings together the absolute best of Mary Oliver’s writing and some hidden gems too. The saddest part of this collection is that this is it, there will be no more new words from Mary Oliver.

Mary Oliver arranged this collection herself. And it shows. It’s a carefully curated treasure.
She had such talent and the ability to capture in nature a very human emotion, nobody will ever compare. I will say though, that Mary Oliver’s writing comes alive in the chapters of writers such as Delia Owens, Glendy Vanderah and many others who manage to capture nature in their novels.

About the Book

Throughout her celebrated career, Mary Oliver touched countless readers with her brilliantly crafted verse, expounding on her love for the physical world and the powerful bonds between all living things. Devotions is a stunning, definitive and carefully curated collection featuring work from over fifty years of writing – from Oliver’s very first book of poetry, No Voyage and Other Poems, published in 1963 at the age of 28, through to her last collection, Felicity, published in 2015.

This timeless volume, arranged by Oliver herself, showcases the beloved poet at her edifying best. Within these pages, she provides us with an extraordinary and invaluable collection of her passionate, perceptive, and much-treasured observations of the natural world.

About The Author

Born in a small town in Ohio, Oliver published her first book of poetry in 1963 at the age of twenty-three. Over the course of her long career, she received numerous awards. Her fourth book, American Primitive, won the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1984. She led workshops and held residencies at various colleges and universities, including Hennington College, where she held the Catharine Osgood Foster Chair for Distinguished Teaching. Oliver died in January 2019.

Photo credit; Mariana Cook

Browse our Shop

Looking for your next read? Head to our Shop to see what’s available.

Generic Box
Connect with us on Social Media


No responses yet

Leave a Reply