all about us

4348708850_7767fe0d4c_o

My thoughts…

Tom Ellen is typically a Young Adult author – but his debut Adult Fiction novel is a pleasant surprise and definitely a genre that he should delve into more often. It’s refreshing to read a poignant novel from a male point of view and All About Us is just beautiful.

This book will remind you of your roots. Of where it all began. Whether it’s a friendship or a relationship – it will take you right back to the start and make you happy and frustrated in equal measures. It’s a beautiful love story and in its own unique way is a modern re-telling of the underlying story behind A Christmas Carol. You won’t fall in love with the characters straight away, in fact Ben will probably annoy you – but stick with him, we are all annoying more than once in our lifetimes.

About the book…

A chance encounter on Christmas Eve leads to the journey of a lifetime in this powerful and emotional love story, perfect for fans of Josie Silver, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes.

One moment in time can change your life forever…

Ben’s always loved the holidays but with his marriage to Daphne on the rocks, this year they’re missing their usual magic. So when his old flame Alice gets back in touch, Ben can’t help wonder: did he make the right choice all those years ago?

Yet everything changes on Christmas Eve when a twinkly-eyed stranger sells Ben a mysterious watch, the hands frozen at one minute to midnight. Opening his eyes the next morning, Ben is astonished to find that he has been catapulted back to 5th December 2005: the day he first kissed Daphne, leaving Alice behind.

Now Ben must make the biggest decision of his life, all over again. But this time around, will he finally find the courage to follow his heart?

All About Us is a deeply moving novel about love, loss and heartbreak — and how, with the help of a little magic, it’s never too late to find the one you’ve been searching for.

Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Publication: Expected October 2020

About the author…

Tom Ellen has written various YA books previously with co-author Lucy Ivison including Lobsters, Never Evers and Freshers (all published by Chicken House). HQ are publishing his first Adult Fiction novel. Tom Ellen is also a journalist and has written for ShortList, Time Out, Vice, talkSPORT, ESPN and Viz.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher and author for a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Check out my blog for more book related posts and to enquire about future reviews, blog tours and cover reveals.

 

No responses yet