very nearly normal 2
4348708850_7767fe0d4c_o

My thoughts…

Oh this book… what a journey. It covers only a short period of time between the two main characters (Effie and Theo) but it feels like a lifetime that we spend with them.

The characters are relatable – whether you feel like Effie or Theo or even their parents or Effie’s friends. Lots of hot topics are gently tackled throughout and carefully explored. There’s a balanced mix of heartbreak and humour as well as triumphs and downfalls.

This is Hannah Sunderland’s debut novel but the great news is that @avon_books signed her up for a two book deal so hopefully we’ll get to read more from this author!

About the book…

Effie’s not perfect. Neither is Theo. But together, they’re pretty close.

Matilda ‘Effie’ Heaton has always felt like she’s swimming against the tide. Everyone around her has life sorted, but Effie’s living with her parents and crying into a wine bottle at night. The only thing she loves is her job at a bookshop, where she can lose herself in other people’s stories.

But then she meets Theo, who knows only too well that life isn’t something to take for granted.

Because Theo has a life-changing secret, and as Effie starts to realise that she’s falling in love instead of falling apart, fate steps in and deals her a new hand. And this time, the stakes are high.

A gorgeous, heart-breaking read for fans of Jojo Moyes and Gail Honeyman.

Genre: Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Publication: 14th May 2020

About the author…

Hannah Sunderland was born and bred in Sutton Coldfield, north of Birmingham, where she still lives with her menagerie of animals. After completing her education in the area, she moved to Derby to complete a Bachelor of Honours Degree in Fine Art, where she developed a love of sculpture. After graduating she had more part-time jobs than she could count before eventually settling down and opening her own business, making props for crime scene reconstruction.

She inherited the writing gene and unquenchable thirst for reading from her father. She has an obsessional love of stationary and the writing bug set in when someone handed her a notebook and she realised that she could create a world within it. She is an ambassador for the charity Mast Cell Action, raising money through sponsored events and working with the charity to raise awareness of the illness.

Connect with the Author…

Instagram

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher and author for a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Check out my blog for more book related posts and to enquire about future reviews, blog tours and cover reveals.

Categories:

Tags:

No responses yet