IMG_3115

My thoughts…

I really loved reading Laura Jane Williams debut novel, Our Stop, which was published in 2019. I didn’t believe she could exceed herself although I expect it’s every authors dream to excel book by book! However, even though I thought it wasn’t possible because Our stop was so good… she has done it again and more.

The characters in The Love Square are likeable, even loveable, especially because of their flaws. The background information seems very well researched and accurate – life as a chef and owner of a pub seem are conveyed really well throughout. The dilemmas that life throw at us are explored carefully with a great mix of emotion and humour. You will find yourself cheering Penny on and commiserating with her in equal measures as we follow her journey navigating love and loss.

About the book…

She’s single. But it can still be complicated…

Penny Bridge has always been unlucky in love.

So she can’t believe it when she meets a remarkable new man.

Followed by another.

And then another…

And all of them want to date her.

Penny has to choose between three. But are any of them The One?

The bestselling author of Our Stop will have you laughing, crying and cheering Penny on in this funny and feel-good exploration of hope, romance and the trust it takes to finally fall in love. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane’s If I Never Met You and Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Publication: July 9th 2020 by Avon

About the author…

On moving to London in 2016, when her memoir Becoming was published, Laura became a columnist for Grazia, later Red Magazine, and in 2017 wrote her second book, Ice Cream for Breakfast whilst working as a part-time children’s nanny. In 2019 her first fiction, Our Stop, was published worldwide and to great international acclaim, and she has since been contracted to write a further four novels. The Love Square is due for publication in summer 2020.
Laura continues to contribute non-fiction to various print and digital media titles and her most recent project is audio manifesto The Life Diet, her publisher’s fastest-selling short audio project of the year. She contributed to the Stylist magazine anthology Life Lessons From Remarkable Women on the topic of self-love.
Laura also writes for screen, and has had projects in development with Wall-to-Wall, a Warner Bros TV Production UK company, and is currently developing an Our Stop adaptation for television.

She now lives on the edge of the Peak District, but travels when she can – which is to say, often. Even her grandmother backpacked the world until her eighties, and so Laura fully expects to do the same. Her favorite book is Zadie Smith’s On Beauty, her happy place is an Italian piazza with a cold glass of wine and a big bowl of pasta, and if she could invite anyone to dinner it would be TRH The Duke and Duchess of Sussex, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Phoebe Waller-Bridge and Joe Manganiello, but only as his character from Magic Mike.

Connect with the Author…

Facebook| Twitter | Instagram | Website

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher and author for a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Check out my blog for more book related posts and to enquire about future reviews, blog tours and cover reveals.

Categories:

No responses yet