the family next door.jpg

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

I think I read this in a few short days – desperate to find out what the secrets are and who did what and where and when. I wasn’t disappointed. The twists and turns really kept me on edge! It’s a fast-paced and enjoyable mystery, dramas and secret in abundance but nothing too over the top. Overall, a great read and perfect for fans of Sophie Hannah.

 

One response